Agong Cup Final (1)

Terengganu won their first ever Agong’s Cup title in a nail-biting finale against defending champions, Sabah. Played in heavy rain at the UPM Stadium in Serdang, the five-time winners, Sabah looked set to retain the title until the last few seconds of the match. Timoci Vunimoku turned hero for Terengganu as he delivered the winning try in the last play.

Terengganu, powered by nine national players and four Fijians, made four tries and three conversions while Sabah managed two tries, one conversion and four penalties. Josaia TokaruaAmirul Mukminin Amizan, captain Mohd Syahir Asraf Rosli and Vunimoku made the tries for Terengganu while Amirul Mukminin scored all the conversions. Sabah got their points from tries by Sakiusa Terence Gavidi and Wilmer Wilfreddoline, with three successful penalties by Mohd Fairuz Abdul Rahman.

Agong Cup Final (5)

It is a historical moment for Terengganu Rugby. After three final appearances, they finally ended the wait to lift the Malaysia’s most prestigious rugby trophy. Credit to the head coach, Izaimi Zainuddin who got all his plans worked this season. Terengganu had also won the National Sevens title this year. It shows that they have a very good development program.