Australia, France, New Zealand and the USA remain unbeaten at the end of day one of the women’s Olympic rugby sevens at Tokyo Stadium. 2016 gold medalist Australia got off to a perfect start with a 26-10 win over China before claiming another convincing victory 48-0 over Japan.

New Zealand won a thrilling match against Great Britain as they overcame a 21 points deficit to win 26-21. France and USA also won both their matches but 2016 bronze medalists Canada slipped to defeat against an impressive Fiji side in the second session at Tokyo Stadium.

Top two in each pool and the two best third-placed teams qualify for the medal quarter-finals, meaning every nation still has a last-eight spot to play for on day two.


Pool B
Canada 33 – Brazil 0
France 12 – Fiji 5

Pool C
Australia 48 – Japan 0
USA 28 – China 14

Pool A
New Zealand 29 – Kenya 7
Great Britain 14 – ROC 12

Pool B
France 40 – Brazil 5
Fiji 26 – Canada 12

Pool C
USA 17 – Japan 7
Australia 26 – China 10

Pool A
ROC 35 – Kenya 12
New Zealand 26 – Great Britain 21

Photo: Mike Lee-KLC / World Rugby