Fiji won the precious Olympic Rugby Sevens Gold after defeating New Zealand in the final at Tokyo Stadium. It is their second consecutive victory at the Olympics.

Both sides were unbeaten in the last three days at the tournament. Fiji started well and lead 19-12 at the break. The Flying Fijians continued their excellent performance in the second half to win the final with 27-12.

Argentina beat Great Britain 17-12 in the third placings match to bag the Bronze medal. Los Pumas scored 3 tries to take a 12-5 lead at half time. Great Britain equalised after the break, but Ignacio Mendy made the winning try for Argentina.

New Zealand reached the final after defeating Great Britain 29-7 in the last four. The All Black 7s dominated the match and lead 14-7 at half time. Fiji had to overcome a strong Argentina side in the semifinals. The Flying Fijians were 12-14 down at the break, before taking control in the second-half to win the match with a 26-14.


Gold Medal Match (Final)
New Zeland 12 – Fiji 27

Bronze Medal Match
Great Britain 12 – Argentina 17

New Zealand 29 – Great Britain 7
Fiji 26 – Argentina 14

5-6 Placings
USA 7 – South Africa 28

7-8 Placings
Canada 7 – Australia 26

9-10 Placings
Ireland 0 – Kenya 22

11-12 Placings
South Korea 19 – Japan 31

Photo: Mike Lee-KLC / World Rugby